Speech Therapy


Speech and Language Therapy

Speech and Language therapy is provided to children from birth through their school years as required by state and federal law. Therapy is provided to children who have speech and language impairments. These impairments include children who have difficulties understanding what others are saying to them and children who have difficulty talking or communicating to others. Language impairments may involve difficulties in grammar, sentence structure, vocabulary, and social skills. Speech impairments may involve articulation (ability to produce sounds correctly), producing sounds, using words to communicate, stuttering, and voice disorders. Speech and Language disabilities may be the only disability the student has or may be related to other disabilities such as autism, cerebral palsy, and various syndromes.


Speech and Language Therapists:

 

  • Work at Highland Pines School which is a centered based program
  • Work at each local district school in the county
  • Evaluate and diagnose speech and language disorders
  • Provide direct therapy services. Services may be provided in a home program, classroom, small group or individual setting
  • Develop augmentative/alternative communication systems for nonverbal students using picture boards, assistive devices
  • Consult with education staff and parents about students suspected of a speech and language disorder
  • Provide support to classroom teachers that have speech and language impaired students.

Speech
Therapist
Schools
they serve
Email
Address
Shana Barth
Early On

sbarth@tuscolaisd.org
989.673.5200 ext. 30360

Kara Booms
Millington Kirk
(Kdg & 1st)
Caro Schall: 3rd - 5th)
kbooms@tuscolaisd.org
989.673.2144 ext. 30245
 Ashley Geiger Cass City  
Caro Headstart (PM)
ageiger@tuscolaisd.org
989.673-2144 ext. 30391
Tina Hendershot 

Rainbow/Small Wonders (Pre,  Millington Kirk 4th-5th, Millington Jr/Sr High 6th-12th
thendershot@tuscolaisd.org
989.673.2144 ext. 30299
Emily Jones Millington
Vassar
ejones@tuscolaisd.org
989.673.2144 ext. 30366
 Melissa Pearson Kingston
Mayville
mpearson@tuscolaisd.org
989.637.2144 ext. 30395
Sheri Pelletier
Caro McComb
MS/HS, ECSE (Pre)
spelletier@tuscolaisd.org
989.673.2144 ext. 30433
Katherine Reed
Reese
St. Elizabeth
St. Michaels
Trinity
WEC (as needed)
kreed@tuscolaisd.org
989.868.4561 ext. 2125
Brittany Stilson Vassar, Pioneer Work & Learn, St. Lukes (Vassar), St. Paul (Millington) bstilston@tuscolaisd.org
989.673.2144 ext. 30440
 Julie Weber Akron-Fairgrove,
USA
jweber@tuscolaisd.org 
989.673.2144 ext. 30234